Game Club

August 25, 2009 at 10:06 pm (Gaming & RPGs)

I’ve been putting a little thought into trying to start a local gaming club.
At least based on what Google can find, either the town (which has over 300,000 people, for heaven’s sake) doesn’t appear to have one yet, or if there are any they’re so small they managed to escape notice from the ole’ interwebs.

I’ve been playing several board games online, mostly in “e-mail me when it’s my turn” format, at sites such at Yucata.de, GamesByEmail.com, and YourTurnMyTurn.com, and while I suppose it’s better than not playing at all, it certainly can’t match playing over an actual board with actual people.

I’ve tried inviting friends over for a game night a couple of times in the past, and it always goes over like a lead balloon. They were quite happy to get together now and then to play an RPG, but for some reason board gaming just don’t fly, and I’m not sure why.
So, unless I can manage to talk friends into it, which doesn’t appear likely, I’m probably going to have to see if I can get together with random strangers for a game now and then.
I suppose if I really beg and plead, I might be able to get LabGirl and/or maybe my teenage nephew to attend a session or two as well.

I just know I’ve been seriously jonesing for some actual face time over a game. LabGirl’s family will play cheesy party games once in a while, and they’re not horrible, but it’s just not the same.

I need some serious time with some beer, some pretzels, and some Settlers of Catan. Or Carcassonne. Or Axis & Allies. Or Terra Nova. Or Wiz War. Or Zombie Plague. Or Roller Coaster Tycoon. Or Metro. Or Draco & Co. Or Before I Kill You, Mr Bond. Hell, I’d probably take friggin’ Risk or Monopoly at this point – I’m jonesin’ that bad!

Of course my main problem is – where the hek do I find the people? And what can I do to try to weed out really scary people? Ugh.

1 Comment

  1. Graumagus said,

    I would love to attend a game night. Along with the 500 other things I’d love to be able to do but can’t because my shitty job keeps me stuck on a schedule usually associated with
    the undead.

Leave a Reply

