Golf Update

June 7, 2009 at 5:06 pm (Uncategorized)

So after tossing the idea around for a while, last weekend Graumagus and I decided to head to the driving range.
I dusted off my clubs (literally – I hadn’t touched them in years), headed to the range, picked up a bucket of 50 balls to hit, and completely sucked about 48 out of those 50 attempts (I only marginally sucked the other 2).

Golf is one of those things that I keep finding myself attracted to even though I’m amazingly horrible at it. In fact, I’ve never played the actual game as I’ve never considered myself able to hit the ball well enough to “graduate” from the driving range to an actual game, and that’s after taking lessons a number of years ago.

I’m getting tempted to give it a shot anyway though – one of the reasons I had previously gotten away from it is that I had seen it as being expensive; and yes, as Grau and I discussed it’s easily possible to blow a huge amount of cash on stuff like equipment without even thinking about it. (something I don’t think would be that big of a deal for me since really all I’d like to get right now is an updated driver to replace my 1950’s-ish wooden one with – yes, I have a wood that’s actually made out of wood, don’t see that much these days).
However, my big concern was the fees the golf courses charge to actually play, which I had thought would probably be upwards of the $40/game range. And that still might be true for some of the really fancy courses, but I was taking a look around at the local golf course information from the city park district, and on most of their courses you can play 9 holes for as little as $11. That’s really not bad at all, especially when you consider a game will probably take a good couple of hours or more depending.

I’m actually wishing I had a yard right now – it would be nice to be able to get at least some kind of practice in without having to run to the driving range every time, and they make both practice nets and “whiffle” golf balls for practicing your swing at home.

I do have one of those little practice putting cups somewhere that you can just throw on the carpet though, along with (buried somewhere in storage) some golf balls – may have to dig that stuff out 🙂

2 Comments

  1. Paul Gent said,

    Go on, take the plunge! 9 holes though sounds like a good introduction, and hopefully won’t break the bank. As you say, it can be an expensive sport, but there are always offers to be had on the internet with someone holding a sale for equipment.

  2. Graumagus said,

    It’s a bit pricey, but out at the Red Barn 9 hole course you can rent Segway scooters instead of carts 🙂

Leave a Reply

