Painty Weekends and Refrigerated Trees

April 27, 2009 at 9:27 pm (Uncategorized)

Yeah, still a whole lotta nothin’ goin on.
Last weekend Labgirl and I went to the Classics and Chrome car show here in town, and, well, it was really rather boring. The did have a few nice cars, including my dream car, my beloved Ferrari F355 Spyder which I promised Labgirl I would buy as soon as I turn independently wealthy (and learn to drive a stick), but they didn’t, you know, do anything… there was no entertainment, only a couple of gymnasiums worth of parked cars to look at, which we did, twice, in probably an hour or less.

Then this weekend we’re just coming off of, I spent at Labgirl’s house helping her paint. The living room is now a sort of khaki green, the kitchen a rather bright yellowish green, and the dining room is purple. Yes, purple.
I helped pick out the greens. The purple… not so much. Plus, it was supposed to be a really deep eggplant shade of purple… and yeah, no so much there either. Looks more like Barney the dinosaur purple. Next to green. Yeah.
I do believe she is strongly considering buying more paint.

Work outlook continues to get worse – almost the entire office is in a bad mood now.
I mentioned to a coworker a couple of weeks ago that I thought that this new client, which is the one most of the office is working under, would tear the company apart. And it’s happening, rapidly. Almost everyone I talk to tells me the only singular thing keeping them from walking out is that they haven’t found anything else yet (and by the way, many of them have jobs that I would take over my own in a minute).
A couple of days ago a local hospital placed a job ad online for a janitor – they must have gotten swamped, because they pulled it already – I was going to apply myself tonight. I highly doubt I they would have hired me – most employers don’t like placing employees into jobs they haven’t done before, but it would have been worth a shot.

And you know, I have a tree in my refrigerator. Work gave everybody a baby tree in recognition of Earth Day.
Yeah. I live in an apartment. Apartments + planting trees = also not so much.
As it so happens somebody on the local Freecycle was looking for a tree to plant with their kids on Friday, so I was like hey, just so happens I have a tree, you’re welcome to swing on by and get it fi you’d like.
They responded saying they’d be happy to take it off my hands, and where do I live.. and I told them the general area, and now it’s been 3 days and I haven’t heard back from them yet.
Jeeze – my neighborhood isn’t that bad…

Leave a Reply

