Trying not to let work negativity take over

April 15, 2009 at 10:37 pm (Uncategorized)

As most of my friends, and family, and associates, and random people who hear or read me bitch about it know, I have not been a fan of my job for a while now, with most complaints revolving around not the actual tasks assigned, although I’ve certainly had some bitches there as well, but mostly towards their shitty pay system and how I’m usually lucky to have money to see a movie or something after paying the bills for my not-exactly-lap-of-luxury lifestyle every month – and have been sort of passively keeping an eye out for something the looks like a better fit, while just dealing with the rest of the job because although I didn’t love the work, I didn’t completely hate it (except for the stint back in December where I was on the phones 8 hours a day – more on that in a sec), and as long as I could at least pay my bills I was willing to deal with it until something better dropped in my lap.

Well – as of Monday night I am now actively seeking other employment – I am getting daily emails from CareerBuilder, and am updating my resume in order to post those up on the job sites as well so that I might be flagged by a “head-hunter” or something along those lines.
It’s bad enough that I’m seeing stuff like “Pepsi truck delivery driver” and thinking “Hey, you know that doesn’t sound too bad.” (But, unfortunately, requires a CDL).

So what happened? Well, Monday afternoon, about half an hour before the end of my shift, my supervisor calls me into the HR office (why she felt she needed HR there I’m not sure – yes, I’ve been openly grouchy about the fact that this job promising “You can make up to $25/hr!” paid me shit all of $9.44/hr last week and how it’s been a repeating trend, but it’s not like I’m going to go postal), I was told that as of the next morning I was being moved into yet another position, primarily due to the client not being happy with my work during the couple of months I’ve been in this prior new position.
Yes, my job has completely changed no less than 3 times since November. We’re not talking subtle changes, we’re talking “You know that job you thought you applied for? Yeah, you’re not doing it.”

Seems the client isn’t happy with me doing shit like, oh, having analytical thought. Or having thoughts at all, for that matter.
See, when I’m doing something, especially something that involves gobs and gobs of other people’s money, such as this job did, I like to know for sure what I’m doing before I complete the work. I’m just freaky that way, I guess.
Now, the computer system this client uses is literally 20 years old, and is cryptic as all shit. We’re talking everything you do with it is done through some symbolic 3 or 4 letter command acronym and/or a 3 digit numeric code to represent some higher message or function. I’m talking shit that would make most computer programmers pull their hair out.
And my training on this system was nearly non-existent – we were shown how to pull up a few screens and what commands to do it, but not a whole lot on oh, how to actually use the system.

So as a result, I had questions. Many, and frequently. And I’d set work items aside so I could ask the department senior, and 90% of the time, she didn’t know the answer either. So I’d have to send my supervisor so she could get an answer directly from the client, and either she or the client would sit on it for a good couple of weeks, and then afterwards respond with an answer that half the time didn’t answer the question I actually asked, or that made absolutely no fucking sense whatsoever so I’d return it saying I wanted it reviewed again because I didn’t agree with the answer. This shit happened constantly.
The client’s main complaint? That I’m not efficient enough.
They preferred, instead, the coworker who also had no idea what he was doing, but rather than asking about it would make a wild guess, say “Hail mary!” as he hit the “release” function, and move on to the next work item.
Now mind you, I can guarantee in the longer term this is going to bite everybody involved in the ass when half of them come back to be worked a second or third time. But they don’t see big picture, they want productivity now, not over the long term.

So yeah, the result of this story, is that my new job is that I’m sitting on the motherfucking phone 8 hours a day.
By the way, interesting tidbit: the job I had that had good benefits and a steady paycheck that I quit in order to do a job with this company? A call center job. That’s right, after being quite plain with the management that the main reason I was so excited to come join their company, which at the time didn’t even have phones on the employees desks, was that I hated being on the phone and wanted to do something not involving one.
“But we know you’ve got phone experience!” they say. “And we’ve noticed you’re good at it, you’re very good on the phone!” they say.
But see, the point is, it matters not one fucking bit to me that I’m good at it. Hell, I might be good at shoveling horse shit, that doesn’t mean I’m going to go looking for it as a career move.

Oh, and this move has also removed pretty much every single remaining aspect I still considered a postive.
Flex-time scheduling? Gone. Oh, I mean sure, I could come in after 8am without getting in trouble, but the problem is I wouldn’t get paid for the last 1-2 hours of my shift, because everybody we call closes at 4, and I don’t get paid unless I complete the call. This is a big one for me, one of the very few things I still liked about the place.
Listening to the radio or ipod while working? Gone. Can’t listen to an Ipod while you’re on the phone.
“Working” lunches? Gone. Can’t eat while you’re on the phone. Thus, will be forced to take full lunch breaks, making my work day longer.
The ability to communicate with coworkers while working? Gone. Can’t talk to the guy next to you while you’re on the phone.
In fact, pretty much anything I found even slightly positive about the job, you can probably insert into “Can’t __________ while on the phone,” and and it’s gone.

Oh, and side note – they currently have a bunch of temps in the office, also doing phone work. A couple of them have let it slip how much they’re getting paid.
Yeah – my company is paying the temps nearly twice as much as their actual employees. What kind of fucked up system is that?

This company has pissed me off pretty badly in the past, but this is a last straw, and the only thing that kept me from walking right out the door was that I don’t have anything else lined up yet and I have bills to pay.

That said, this job has been eating away at me for months, and this past week has been especially harsh. It’s causing stress and depression, and is basically all-around fucking up my life, so I need to figure out how to dump it, and quick.

I was telling LabGirl over dinner tonight that I’m going to allow myself a few days to be pissy, because I really should be and deserve to be, but after that I’m going to try to force myself to cheer up a bit as I send out my resumes, in hopes that it won’t be long before I can smile as I walk out the door and tell them to kiss my ass.
I’m also planning on starting to use some of my PTO in a few weeks which should help as well (especially since if I actually do find something I don’t want to end up losing it all).

Seriously, if anybody local knows of any good job openings let me know, as long as it ain’t retail, restaurant, customer service/phones, or night shift, and it pays hourly at least something with the suffix “-teen” in it, I’ll probably at least consider it.

1 Comment

  1. Graumagus said,

    Oh, come on man! Sunlight is completely overrated!

    All joking aside, unless it’s take the job or be homeless don’t take a night shift position anywhere. The situation I’ve been stuck in for almost fifteen freakin’ years is that when you get to be useful in a position on a shift that’s hard to fill, they will glue you there permanently.

    Hell, I’m the “go-to guy” (Read: Supervisor without pay) at my job. They fed me a line of bullshit about going to days about six months ago, but realistically the only way they’ll let me go to days is if I turn in my 2 week notice. And if I do that, it means I already have another job, so there you go….

Leave a Reply

