A cool site for finding a credit card

April 5, 2009 at 2:13 pm (Money & Investing)

So as I mentioned a short while back I’m shopping around for a new credit card, since the WaMu cash rewards card I was very happy with got taken over by Chase, who promptly removed the cash reward and hiked up the interest rate. Bastards.
The program they have me on now has the shitty “points reward” program, which if you try to translate it into cash (cash is one of the options you can “buy” with your points), is worth about 1/4 of what the cash reward was I had on my old card.

So anyway, while doing a little web-surfing today I ran across a web site called Know Before You Apply – it’s a cool little site where you just give it your name, address, and the last four of your social, and it goes out, takes a peek at your credit score, grades it and lists what credit card you qualify for; if you want it will also let you narrow it down by bank, type (Visa, Discover, etc), or reward program.

Using it I found the card I will probably end up going with, the Discover More card, which gives 1% cash back on all purchases, plus an additional 5% cash back on categories that change every few months, such as groceries, gas, clothing, home improvement, hotels, movies, etc etc.
And since I seriously pay for everything with my credit card (about the only exceptions are the little couple-of-dollar transactions here and there such as buying fast food, etc) the bit of cash back every month from doing that is a nice deal.

[Edit 04-06: Yeah, they turned me down, even though I rated a “B+” for my score and last I checked my FICO was in the mid-700’s. Unfortunately though even though my credit is the best it’s been ever, it still has the word “bankruptcy” on it, and will continue to do so until partway into 2012.]

Actually Discover has several interesting programs to choose from – the only thing I’m not liking about it is that it’s not a Visa or MasterCard – although I’m sure most major companies deal with Discover (and I checked, you can use it with PayPal), I’d probably want to still keep a Visa or MC in my wallet along with it just in case.

1 Comment

  1. Contagion said,

    My major credit card has been Discover since I was in college. My available credit limit is enough to put a cheaper new car on it. It has been years since I’ve gone someplace that didn’t take it.

Leave a Reply

