Goodbye, BSG

March 22, 2009 at 9:04 pm (Movies & TV)

Just finished watching the series finale of Battlestar Galactica.
They did a really good job with the finale I thought, which I’m glad of because frankly the series had seriously lost some steam there for a while. Lots of action, good endings for many of the characters, and more than one spot that actually made me a bit misty-eyed.
And, although a couple of the theories I’ve had were never addressed in a way where I could tell if I was right or not, I can proudly say that one of the major ones was absolutely right. Even though I don’t want to say which one because I don’t want to spoil it if somebody sees this and hasn’t watched it yet.

Although it started dragging a bit towards the end (after it sort of developed from a highly engaging sci-fi drama to basically “Days of Our LIves: In Space” ), BSG seriously was in my opinion one of the best series to ever air, and I shall definitely miss it.
And yes, I will definitely be wanting to buy the series box set when it comes out in late summer.

There must be some kind of way out of here
Said the joker to the thief
There’s too much confusion
I can’t get no relief
Business men they drink my wine
Plowmen dig my earth
No one will level on the line
Nobody of it is worth

No reason to get excited
The thief he kindly spoke
There are many here among us
Who feel that life is but a joke
But you and I we’ve been through that
And this is not our fate
So let us not talk falsely now
The hour’s getting late

All along the watchtower
Princes kept the view
While all the women came and went
Barefoot servants too
Outside in the cold distance
A wild cat did growl
Two riders were approaching
And the wind began to howl

2 Comments

  1. Harvey said,

    I was good with the wrapup of most of the story lines, there was just one HUGE thing that nagged at me.

    *spoiler alert*

    The fact that everyone in the entire fleet – the fleet that ALWAYS bickered and argued about EVERYTHING and is just coming off a VERY bloody civil war – ALL of them agreed to wander off into the wilderness with only the clothes on their back and a backpack, and to send basically everything that might have come in handy toward helping them survive against the elements, crop failure, and wild animals and fly it into the sun.

    Plus all those soft-handed desk-jockies are suddenly going to become successful farmers? Um… ok.

    Other than that, though, the show had a lot of virtues in its production values & story writing, so I don’t necessarily regret keeping up with the series.

  2. shadoglare said,

    Yes, the way they ended it certainly wasn’t perfect, and I’ve got several gripes about what appeared to be key storyline hooks earlier in the series being pretty much completely ignored. I’d probably have to say my biggest pet peeve with the finale was the “base ship destroyed by nukes from the ship that was floating dead in space and just happened to be pointing in exactly the right direction after the dead pilot’s hand slipped and hit the launch button even though there is no gravity” bit.

Leave a Reply

