A Shaving Update

March 7, 2009 at 2:42 pm (Uncategorized)

OK so a few days ago I got my first shaving soap in the mail, and an hour or so ago I tried it out.

Put in another Personna blade (my blade sample pack hadn’t arrived yet so I figured I’d give it another try), warmed up the mug & brush and tried out shave #2 with Nana June’s Bay Rum shaving soap:

And I have to say, it looks like a *lot* of the trouble I was having with the first shave may have been related to the Gillette shaving gel.
Things seemed to go much smoother this time.
I didn’t have the “tugging” problem with the Personna this time at all – now this was a new blade, so I suppose there’s a possibility the first one was just dull, but probably just more likely that it was the shave soap that made the difference.

I did have to apply lather and re-shave about 2-3 times depending on the area (still having some trouble with my neck – though that also went better this time, and as far as I can tell not a single nick!) and I may give that Every Man Jack post-shave a longer go as it wasn’t as bad now that I new it was probably going to sting for a minute.

All in all a pretty good shave – we’ll just have to see what the girlfriend thinks when she comes over in a few hours 😎

(Oh, and a side note – the mail carrier dropped off my new blade sample pack just a little bit ago too – so now I also have some Derby, Dorco, and Crystal blades to try out… along with 5 more Personnas, this time in cardboard/paper packing…)

Leave a Reply

