Goodbye O’Reilly – hello… Fred Thompson?

March 1, 2009 at 2:00 pm (Political Ponderings)

So this past Thursday Bill O’Reilly broadcast the last episode of his radio show.

So now I gotta find somebody else to listen to who is able to keep my interest when talking about social & political issues, preferably without focusing on being a Democrat-basher or Republican-basher (these last being the main reasons I don’t listen to shows like Hannity or Limbaugh, or pretty much anybody on Air America).

Interestingly jumping into the hole left by O’Reilly, at least on a large percentage of the stations that ran O’Reilly’s show, is going to be a new show landed by ex-senator and ex-presidential nominee Fred Thompson

Now, I like Fred in general. He had a few issues that kept me from giving him my vote in the primaries, but I do think he has a good grasp on what’s going on in the country and is pretty good at talking about them (except, apparently, when he’s running for president). So I’m looking forward to checking out his show so I can see what it’s like.

Unfortunately, our local affiliate has decided to replace O’Reilly with Mark Levin – who, from the little bit I’ve listened to from the audio on his web site, falls into that “hardcore right” category that I’m trying to avoid.
I don’t want blind ideology, I just want somebody who actually seems to make sense when they talk.

Hopefully the Fred Thompson Show (whose website is only a filler title page right now) will have podcasts available soon so I can download and see which category his show falls into.

Leave a Reply

