Dude, I’m (maybe, possibly) getting a Dell

February 22, 2009 at 9:19 pm (Uncategorized)

I’m getting a fairly decent return on my taxes this year (which, really, means I should fill out my W4 withholding forms a little differently so that I get to keep more of it over the course of the year instead of getting a big refund, but that’s a different topic), and I’m thinking of putting a little bit of it into a Dell netbook.

For those not familiar, netbooks have become a pretty popular trend over the last year or two, and are basically tiny laptop/notebook computers.

Because of the small size, they would suck to use as your only computer, but for something that’s highly portable, for limited use, they seem pretty cool.
I’m thinking having one would be handy for two reasons:

1) I sometimes like the idea of watching TV while working on the computer, and the TV and my computer are in completely separate parts of the house, and
2) once the weather starts warming up, I plan to start going out walking with LabGirl several nights a week on a walking path that’s near her house, and packing it along would allow me to take care of my nightly email-and-stock-market-checking fix without having to go home or take over LabGirl’s computer to do it.

And, the lower-end model can be had for $249, which seems pretty darned reasonable.
It’s a bit of a lightweight, having a 1.6ghz processor but only 512MB of RAM and 4GB of storage, but again as this would be a secondary computer, not that big of a deal.
Also, rather than Windows, the $249 version comes with Ubuntu for the operating system – which I’ve read a few complaints about from reviews on Dell’s web site from people not familiar with the system, but since my primary PC already uses a modified version of Ubuntu called Linux Mint, again that’s just fine with me.

Here’s a fairly short review of this little ‘net companion:

1 Comment

  1. Graumagus said,

    $250? Might not be a bad computer for the kids…..

    Don’t ask me how much I shelled out for my new Toshiba. It’s been so long since I’ve had anything in the same ballpark as a decent computer it was totally worth it (plus the built in wireless is picking up mucho unsecured wireless routers by my apartment. Arrrr matey!)

Leave a Reply

