Swap-a-DVD

February 16, 2009 at 8:46 pm (Uncategorized)

Just signed up and already have trades going –

You know there are a lot of movies that I think are great when I see them and that I think I’d like enough to own a copy, but then after watching them once or twice they just sort of sit around.
So why not trade them for something else?

Swap-a-DVD is an online DVD trading club where you can list the DVDs you wouldn’t mind having taken off of your hands, and then create a Wish List of DVDs that you’d be interested in getting in return.

After you list 10 DVDs that you’d be willing to trade you are automatically given credit for 1 DVD you can get from someone else. Afterwards, for every DVD you send out, you get credit to get another in return.

Looks to be a pretty swank system, and there are a ton of DVDs available (there are a number of other similar sites out there but this one seems to be by far the most heavily used one).

Within minutes of getting set up, I got a request to send a DVD out (a copy of Masters of Science Fiction that I won in a drawing a while back and wasn’t that great anyway), and already got an offer to receive a copy of Clerks (or one of about four other items from my Wish List) in return.

I’ll be sure to update on how well everything goes – so far the only glitch I’ve run into is that I currently can’t read the messages in my “personal messages” folder, but that’s more than likely either a pop-up blocker thing or a Linux thing, and I’ve emailed them to see what we can figure out on it.

Anyhoo, if you’ve got some DVDs collecting dust, you might want to look into it.

(Side note: They also have a similar site for books: PaperBackSwap.com - Our online book club offers free books when you swap, trade, or exchange your used books with other book club members for free.)

Leave a Reply

