A New President. Yay. Or Something.

January 21, 2009 at 12:45 am (Political Ponderings)


(cartoon source)

So today the Presidential reigns have been handed over to Barack Obama, with an inauguration beginning his shift by blowing an estimated $170 million on the party, while today the stock market plummeted, the worst drop during a Presidential inauguration since the Dow was created in 1896.

I’m hoping that this isn’t a sign of things to come, but I have an eerie sense of foreboding about what is to come in the months and years ahead.

I think part of what’s bothering me is just the amount of hype around his election that has gone far and beyond the level of belief. Other than being being a good speaker, what exactly has he done to deserve it all? I really don’t get it.

I mean think about it – whenever the media over-hypes something, be it a new product, or movie, or idea – how often have they lived up to the hype? How often do they instead turn out to be a huge disappointment, with you considering this new product/movie/idea/etc and the thought of “Wait… what, this is it?” going through your head?
I mean, could Obama end up becoming the US Political equivalent of Microsoft Bob?

Like many others, although I didn’t vote for him, and I disagree with a lot of his policy ideas, and I find his cabinet choices, lack of accomplishments, and probable ties to corrupt state governments to be disturbing, and overall think there’s a possibility he could be extremely damaging for the country regardless of how much the masses mindlessly bow before him – the more responsible (or maybe just patriotic) part of me really hopes I’m wrong. The country is in a rocky place right now especially when it comes to the economy, and I’ve love to find out that my opinion that Obama’s policies will bankrupt the country actually turn out to be wrong and they somehow bring prosperity to the country instead.

To say the least, I’m not going to hold my breath.

Leave a Reply

