Remembering to Give Thanks

November 27, 2008 at 2:37 pm (Uncategorized)

It’s Thanksgiving Day here in the U.S., and I hope everyone has the opportunity to spend some time with those you care about today.

On Thanksgiving it can be easy to simply enjoy a good meal and hang out with friends and family and leave it at that – it is, after all, what really makes it such a good day.
But I think it’s important to take a moment to consider what today was really meant to be used for – to take a moment to ponder upon and be thankful for what we’ve been given in life.

It is of course very true that few of us have perfect lives; some are without work or have other financial hardships, some have health issues, others may be dealing with anger, frustration, or sadness in our lives. But even so, we all have those little gifts that our lives just would have taken much harder turns for the worse without.
It could be the love of your family or your friends. It could be your children or grandchildren. The job that, as much as it annoys you most of the time, is helping keep food on the table and a roof over your head. Some may be thankful that this is a country that allows us to gather like this and express ourselves openly in our conversations without fear of persecution, or that it is able to supply the food we enjoy today, something many other areas of the world can’t say. Or, it could simply be a thankfulness that God allowed us to stick around long enough to see one more sunrise – in a way every day is a gift, and there’s never a guarantee that you’ll get another one tomorrow.

Me, I’m thankful for my family, whose love I know will always be there, even though I don’t visit them nearly as much as I probably should. I’m thankful for friends, both old and new, many of which I also probably don’t stay in close enough contact with. I’m thankful that I found a girl who has happily dealt with my crap for over six months and whom actually seems to be interested in signing on for much longer. As much as I bitch about it on an almost daily basis, I’m thankful for my job, something many people are without right now. And even when times are tough, I am thankful for every new day and every new opportunity.

Please take a moment today to consider what you’re thankful for as well; and to finish, I’d like to end with this short classic film with also reminds us that there is more to Thanksgiving than turkey and cranberry sauce (hat-tip to Art of Manliness for pointing out the vid):

Leave a Reply

