Catching the Poker Bug

November 7, 2008 at 12:05 am (Gaming & RPGs)

Well, I’m a little late since the huge fad phase for the game passed a year or two ago, but I’ve gotten slightly hooked on Texas Hold’Em Poker.
It started out on MySpace with their versions, but I’ve since “branched out” onto poker-specific game sites where you can actually win stuff.

I’ve opted for the web sites that allow you to win prizes without actually having to take a chance on losing your own real cash. You can actually win anywhere from small cash prizes, or sometimes gift cards, all the way up to thousands of dollars in online tournaments, without risking a dime of your own money.
I don’t think I’m quite that good yet, but I’m working on it and seem to be doing a decent job of not losing my virtual arse.

There are a lot of poker sites out there, and I’ve looked through a whole bunch of them. Right now I’ve got two that are favorites, although I’m still tinkering a little with a couple of others.
The criteria I like are:
-Gives you the chance to win real prizes, preferably cash ones
-Can’t have a ton of annoying ads flashing, making noise, etc while I’m trying to play. I don’t mind a couple of ads, but I don’t want them annoying or distracting me while I’m trying to think about how to play.
-Can’t require Windows software. I am one of an estimated 29 Million Linux users. Thus, I can’t use your damned Windows software.
-If it’s Flash based (which is probably is if it doesn’t fall into the prior category), it can’t be all crash-y all the time. I’ve found that some sites like to crash Flash for some reason.

So – the sites I prefer?

1) PurePlay: Several game options, simple interface, doesn’t crash often. The one time it did the support staff was very quick and friendly about refunding me the tournament credits I lost when it happened….

2) PrizeWagon: Pretty similar setup, a little more thematic maybe.

If anybody’s interested in playing a few hands let me know 😉

1 Comment

  1. Bruce said,

    Nice to have ya along. I mainly play at Full Tilt. May see ya on Pure Play

Leave a Reply

