Venting Frustration: Graduation Requirements, etc

October 31, 2008 at 10:08 am (Uncategorized)

This morning after getting out of my history class, I stopped into the school’s counseling center to talk to an advisor about next semester – as from what I could tell, it looked like I only needed one science class before finally, finally getting my AA degree.

Well, according to mister advisor, even after completing the two classes I’m in now (which are kicking my ass – I’m getting good marks in them but I have no time for pretty much anything else) still three short – a physical sciences class with lab (which, with the lab, pretty much means it’s actually two classes time-wise), a humanities class and another art class. So, really, four classes.
For an AA degree that is, career-wise, basically worthless. I have enough experience in the work world to know that there are scant few employers that when hiring for a position give a flying shit if somebody in their mid-30’s has a two year liberal arts degree. It pretty much says that this person may know a lot, but they know a lot about a whole bunch of stuff that probably has jack to do with the actual job they’re applying for.
Really the only reason I decided to finish it was because it seemed like I was so close – but now with this update it probably looks like another year at least, along with a couple of grand of cash that I don’t just have laying around ready to burn.
For, again, a degree that won’t really do anything for me other than to give me a warm feeling of actually completing it.

*Sigh* I’m also really frustrated right now because my “career” has been in a rut for years – since giving up on the IT industry, there really isn’t a hell of a lot out there for those with my skill set other than menial grunt work. Really I want a job that is mentally engaging, allows for at least a little creative thought, and that pays well. That kind of work doesn’t seem to exist for those without specialized training.

So now I’m really wondering if I might be better off with vocational training rather than the general degree. Those who have known me for a while will probably remember it was only five or six years ago after getting laid off from the IT biz that I signed up for an apprenticeship with a cabinetry company – which unfortunately never panned out, mostly due to their lack of confidence because of my experience level – that being that I’ve never worked with wood in my life (I find it fascinating, but haven’t really had real-life exposure to it, and you can’t set up a wood shop in an apartment).

I’m actually looking at those vocational schools you see advertised all over the place and wondering if I should look into it – you know the deal – “Learn from home! You can learn accounting! Small engine repair! Locksmithing! Plumbing!” etc etc. In fact I’m actually wondering right this second if there’s a local HVAC training program – I seem to recall both that those guys are in demand and that they make a fair assload of money to boot. That or maybe an electrician might be good too.

I just know I need something. I have a shit job, and I’m basically stuck with it because I know if I get something else it will just be a slightly different shit job.

*sigh* I think I need a cookie.

Leave a Reply

